Not Your Average Beach Bag Essentials

Hey friends – I’m BACK!!

I can’t even begin to explain how busy I’ve been this summer, and it’s left me with hardly any time to blog! I spent the last week on a much needed beach vacation, and it gave me some pretty good beachy, summery themed content ideas. Today, I’m sharing my list of “not your average” beach bag essentials.

I’m sure you guys are used to the beach bag posts that roll around every summer… but most of the time, they’re all the same thing. Of course everyone knows they need to pack sunscreen, a floppy hat, something to read, and an Insta-worthy coverup. Anyone who has ever gone to the beach knows what essentials they need…and if you forget something important one day, you’ll always remember it in the future.

But these beach bag essentials aren’t always no-brainers. As you find yourself throwing all of your typical must haves in your bag, think of this list – because after doing some hard research (aka sitting on the beach and thinking about what else I wish I would’ve had in my beach bag), these are things that rarely ever made it into my bag before but are now real essentials that I don’t think I can live without if I find myself spending a day on the beach.

Beach Bag essentials

(PS – think this doesn’t apply to you if you don’t have a beach day scheduled in the near future? Think again! I highly recommend that you find a free day and treat yourself to a day in the sun – grab some friends and hit up the nearest beach/lake/pool, because you deserve some much needed R+R.) 

Processed with VSCO with s3 preset

 

Super Hydrating Moisturizer

My new favorite moisturizer is from Clinique – I grabbed the small size of the Dramatically Different Hydrating Gel, and I loved it so much that I picked it up in the larger size as well. While you should constantly be applying sunscreen to your face, it doesn’t always come in the most hydrating formula. I started alternating my SPF with my moisturizer throughout the day, and it made my skin feel so much relief from sun exposure. This little tube is small enough to through into your bag, and it gives your skin a much needed dose of moisture while you sit in the sun all day. And if you feel your skin getting burned, the thing that it needs most is moisture – so start hydrating asap!

Find it here.

SPF Lip Balm

I’m not sure if I was the only one not on this SPF lip balm board, but after my lips got burned on a day trip to the beach a few weeks ago, I’ll never hit the beach without it again. I’ve never experienced sunburn on my lips…and let me tell you, it was not a good time. My lips were dry and chapped for the next week, and my usual vaseline wasn’t doing much to help the burn itself. To avoid this altogether, prevent sunburned lips with chapstick that comes with SPF. And if you’re reading this like, Sarah, I’ve used this my entire life and I can’t believe you haven’t before, I say good for you! And if you’re like me and you haven’t used it before, save yourself and your lips and get some right now.

Find it here.

Conditioner

This was something I didn’t bring but wish I had. As much as I love lounging in the sand and soaking up the sun, I love being in the waves, too. But I don’t love getting out and having my hair feel sticky and sandy and knotted. I would throw a travel size tube of conditioner in my bag to smooth in my hair after getting out of the waves, which would make it easier to manage and not feel icky (all other curly girls out there reading this would understand 🙋🏻).

Find my favorite travel size conditioner here.

Coconut Oil

I don’t need to explain to you how popular coconut oil is right now, because if you have a social media account or use the internet, you just know. BUT, if you want to save some space in your bag, coconut oil can replace both the conditioner and the moisturizer. This double duty product will make your skin and hair moisturized, and it’ll be less for you to carry, too. 😉

Find a beach bag appropriate size here.

Baby Wipes

Like the conditioner, this is something I thought of after being on the beach. Like I said before, I love being in the waves, but I’m not too crazy about my skin feeling sticky and salty as I dry off. I love the sand, but I don’t love when sand sticks to any part of my body other than my feet. A quick fix? Baby wipes! Grab some basic baby wipes and throw them in your bag – that way when you feel sticky, a quick swipe down will have your skin feeling clean and refreshed (just don’t forget to reapply your sunscreen after!).

Find it here.

Polarized Sunglasses

Processed with VSCO with s3 preset

Last but not least, you gotta protect your eyes. Ever leave the beach with your eyes feeling tired and itchy and burned? It’s possible! Take the risk of getting a sunglass tan on your face and protect your eyes (just apply extra SPF to your face to avoid funky lines). The best way to go is to make sure you’re buying sunglasses that have UV protection – aka polarized lenses. These have a special coating on the lens that reduces glare and lets you see better while protecting your eyes from harmful UV rays. Your eyes are sensitive, and you should be protecting them any way you can, especially if you’re spending all day under the sun.

Find cute and protective pairs here, here and here. 

Processed with VSCO with s3 preset

There you have it! My not so average beach bag essentials. Do you have anything you throw in your beach bag that isn’t a typical beach must have? Let me know in the comments below! And like I said before – get yourself somewhere sunny and warm ASAP, girl. You deserve it. 😎

Signnature 3

2 thoughts on “Not Your Average Beach Bag Essentials

  1. Hi Sarah!
    Another MUST HAVE for your beach bag is a travel sized bottle of baby powder. It instantly gets the sand off of your hands so you can continue to snack 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

