Six Ways to Increase Your Hustle This Summer

Let me start off by saying I had a big blogging FAIL this week – last Thursday I promised to have posts every Monday and Thursday…and here I am on a Tuesday, finishing up my first post of the week. WOMP.

I will say, I was feeling a bit under the weather yesterday (and since I work two jobs from Wednesday-Sunday, Monday and Tuesday are my “weekend days”) and I spent all day on the couch, binge-watching Scandal. It was glorious.

So it might be a little surprising that today I’m talking about maximizing your hustle this summer. But, hear me out – I’m a believer in the idea that you need a cheat day every once in a while if you want to achieve peak productivity mode. And as much as you want to spend every day lounging by the pool, summer is a great time to get ahead and work hard (because you’ve gotta pay for school books and your shopping addiction, amiright??). So in the spirit of doing #werk, here are six ways to increase your hustle this summer.

6 ways to increase your hustle this summer

Write it all down

Okay, you might be thinking, “Write what down?” My answer: everything. Write down your daily goals, your weekly goals, and your goals for the summer. Write down how you plan on doing it. Write down your ideas, and write down why they’ll work or what you need to tweak to make it work. Writing things down will hold you accountable for getting them done. Not only will it increase your productivity, it’ll make you feel good for doing things you might not have time to focus on when you’re in school.

Processed with VSCO with s3 preset

Let yourself get inspired by the small things

If you were to take a look at my room (at home and at school), you’ll see tidbits of life inspo EVERYWHERE. I’ve got all the cute mugs, Pinterest-inspired wall decor, hand-written motivational notes scattered in random places, and a laptop background that makes me want to get ish done. That’s how I get myself inspired – I have no shame in buying things that make me feel like a boss. Why? That makes me act like a boss in return. Now, there’s only so much a coffee mug can do. You have to supply the hustle yourself. But if a pencil that says “Always On Point” will make you feel more inspired to be productive, I’m all for it. (And yes, that pencil does exist, I have it myself, and I am completely obsessed and you definitely need it in your life.)

Get a job (or two)

As much as I may groan about it, working two jobs is a blessing. First of all, it gives you something to do. Laying around and doing nothing is nice for the first few days of your summer vacation…until boredom strikes, that is. As much as we may complain about having to go to work, it’s better than sitting around home doing nothing. And like I mentioned before, college isn’t cheap, and neither are the stores I like to shop at (I’m lookin’ @ you, J. Crew, Francesca’s, Kate Spade). We all need money, and having a job (or two) will give your days purpose and it’ll put money in the bank.

Working at a winery and not being able to have the wine is rough but the sunsets make up for it 🌅

A post shared by Sarah Hanlon (@sarahhanlon_) on

Plan, plan, plan, and then plan some more

Get inspired to hustle by envisioning what you want your future to look like. So far this summer, I’ve planned out things for the upcoming fall semester, I’ve scoped out fall internships, and I’ve even looked into summer internships for next year. I’ve got plans for my blog, and I’ve got plans for things I want to do this summer. Getting a plan in place ignites a fire in you to work to get it done – and it’ll make you excited for the fabulous things to come for you in the future.

Allow yourself a cheat day

I mentioned this earlier – a cheat day once in a while is so necessary. If you push yourself to your limit every day, you will experience burnout. And, let’s get real, no one wants to be burnt out, especially during the summer. And if you’re lucky enough to still be a student who still has their summers off, you better make the most out of it! Lady bosses who hustle need time to rejuvenate and rest up to keep the fuel to their fire going. Whether your idea of a perfect cheat day involves binge watching your favorite show, laying out on a beach, or diving into a stack of books you’ve been meaning to read, do it and enjoy every second of it. It’ll make you motivated and ready to keep hustling the next day.

Put yourself first

If it’s not going to benefit you in the long run, what’s the point of even doing it? Don’t forget that you’re allowed to take charge of your life and the things you put time and energy in to – and if you feel like it’s not benefitting you or fulfilling you, there’s absolutely no reason to do it. If I felt like blogging was a burden, I wouldn’t be putting in the effort into it every week – because that would just be a waste of my time! But, because I love it and I love the work that goes into it, I don’t mind setting aside time to make it happen. That’s my advice to you: if you don’t like something you’re doing or it doesn’t seem like a valid use of your time, don’t do it. I’m sure there are plenty of other things you could be doing instead. Always put yourself first – you’re worth it.

How are you finding ways to increase your hustle this summer? I’d love to hear – let me know in the comments below!

signnature-2

Leave a Reply

