Why You Need to Start Embracing Spontaneity

Happy Monday, everyone! I’m trying this new thing where I post twice per week – crazy, right? Now that I’m home for summer and have more time to devote to blogging (#YAY) I’m going to focus on posting even more, and my goal is to post every Monday and Thursday! I’m starting to feel even more like a ~true blogger~ now. 😉

Today’s post is actually an interesting topic for me. Being spontaneous is not my strong suit. I’m a Type A planner through and through. I write everything down, I live off of my planner, and I like having an action plan in place when I know I’m going to do something. Even if I decide one night that I’m going to do nothing, that is strategically planned out and worked into my schedule.

Even though I love hanging out with my friends and doing fun, last minute things, I just don’t always like being spontaneous. What if my phone isn’t charged? What if I’m not wearing the right outfit? What if I don’t have enough money on me? What if my mom has plans that I didn’t know about? Questions like these are hella important – because if I’m not wearing the right shoes, I won’t have fun. (Ya feel me??)

But recently I had a change of heart. Last week, my cousin invited me and my mom to go to Ocean City, Maryland with her for a last minute two-day trip. My immediate thought was, “Oh, that’d be fun, but I can’t just pick up and go on a trip like that with only a two day notice.”

But it was actually my mom who talked me into it. I’m on summer break and she’s on a sabbatical from work, so what was stopping us?? (Answer: nothing)

So, we packed up our bags and headed to OCMD – and it was the best spontaneous trip. That’s what I’m taking about today: why you need to start embracing spontaneity.

Spontaneity

You’ll have more fun

I can’t stress this one enough. Our two day trip consisted of good food, walks on the beach, AMAZING brunch, and lots of laughs. What would I have done if we weren’t on this trip? Well, I’d probably be at home binge-watching Scandal. (It’s my current fave, and I literally cannot stop watching. In fact, I have it playing in the background as I write this post). While that’s fun, it doesn’t beat a walk on the beach.

Being spontaneous makes life more enjoyable. If you have the opportunity and the ability to embrace spontaneity, why wouldn’t you do it? I’m a huge believer in living life to the fullest and enjoying all of the little moments, and being spontaneous will make your life simply more enjoyable.

Processed with VSCO with s3 presetProcessed with VSCO with s3 preset

You’ll create great memories and great stories

This trip that we took will always be special for a few reasons. One? I was able to surprise one of my very best friends, Abby! She works at a restaurant in Dewey Beach, which was only 30 minutes from where we were staying. I sneakily figured out her work schedule and showed up out of nowhere, and she was shocked! It’ll be one of my favorite memories of the summer.

IMG_1304

That’s the thing about being spontaneous: you will create memories and they’ll leave you with great stories to tell.

One thing I’ve noticed since going to college is that my friends are all so diverse, and they all have the best stories. When you’re sitting around someone’s dorm room listening to your friends’ heartfelt memories or embarrassing stories or crazy adventures, you want to participate too. Being spontaneous will give you those stories that you’ll get to reminisce on and share in situations like that.

Processed with VSCO with s3 preset

You never know what can happen or who you’ll meet

I’m a big believer in fate. I’ve experienced the “being in the right place at the right time” phenomenon (but those are stories for another post) and I’ve heard so many similar stories as well, and you never know who you’ll meet or what amazing life-changing thing can happen. While that may be a little idealistic, it’s the truth! Who’s to say you won’t meet your soulmate or find your perfect future job by being spontaneous and meeting new people? You’ll never know if you don’t try. Plus, it’ll go hand-in-hand with creating great memories and great stories. 😉

fullsizerender-5.jpg

You only live once

Embrace the #yolo mindset! No matter how corny or out of date the whole ‘yolo’ thing is, it’s true. You only live once. Do you want to spend it at home, not having fun? Or do you want to spend it doing things that are meaningful and worthwhile? I’m gonna say we’d all like to make the most of our time here. Take the risk, and be spontaneous. As I’m learning, it’s worth it.

How do you feel about being spontaneous? Do you like it? Are you learning to like it, like me? Let me know in the comments below!

signnature-2

 

2 thoughts on “Why You Need to Start Embracing Spontaneity

  1. Sarah I really enjoyed your blog(I’m feeling pretty cool & spontaneous using this lingo😉) I look forward to more good summer reading😉💕

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

