Trend Talks: Off the Shoulder vs. Cold Shoulder

There’s a very important topic at hand that I want to discuss today: ~spring trends~

Let me be the first to say that I’m by no means a style expert – I just really love shopping (and spending money) and I love following trends even more.

When I say I love following trends, what I really mean is that I like reading fashion magazines and seeing which trends are being picked up by fashion bloggers. I rarely actively shop trends – when I shop, I usually buy the cutest, preppiest and cheapest things I can find, whether they’re currently “on trend” or not. I had this idea for a cute lil’ series where we just talk about fashion, and I had to kick it off with two trends I ~had~ to try out for myself: cold shoulder and off the shoulder tops!

If you scroll through any fashion blogger’s Instagram account right now, I guarantee you’ll find at least one of these tops in their most recent posts. Why? These are TOO DANG CUTE. So, I took it upon myself to investigate them and figure out if they’re worth it for all the college ladies in the house (spoiler alert: they are).

Off-the-Shoulder

Let’s start with off-the-shoulder first. I got this gorgeous, light blue OTS top from Francesca’s. I scored it for $25 during a site-wide sale, though it regularly retails for $34. I wanted this top for two reasons: the color is a preppy closet staple (#blessup) and it has the cutest bow ties on the sleeves.

BUT, if you’re looking to buy a trend that’s functional, this is not the best option for you. I wore this top to class, and I was on the struggle bus all. day. long. It rode up my shoulders every time I moved my arms – and you don’t realize how much you actually do move your arms until you wear a top like this. From typing on my laptop to grabbing my bag from class to class to opening doors, this top rode up every single time. Let me tell ya, I was tired of repositioning it after the first five minutes.

However, if you’re looking for a trendy top to wear to a two-hour brunch date with your besties or for a quick outdoor photoshoot, this top will be your bff. You can find similar styles here, here and here.

I’ll definitely wear this top in the summer on days when I won’t be running around too much, but I WON’T be wearing it to class again. Ain’t nobody got time to deal with pulling at your top every two minutes.

But, here’s a great alternative:

Cold Shoulder

This top is the best of both worlds. Not only do you get to show off your shoulders, BUT you can actually move your arms comfortably when you wear it (pro-tip: dust your cheek highlighter on your shoulders à la Jaclyn Hill if you really want to glow to the gods ✨).

IMG_0031

I got this top from LC Lauren Conrad at Kohl’s – big surprise, right? Though I got this top last season, I found similar, alternative styles for you here, here and here.

I can’t say enough great things about this top. For a college student like myself, I can wear a cold-shoulder top and look trendy without worrying about having a wardrobe malfunction as I grab my iced coffee from the Starbucks counter. Goals, amiright?

Long story short, if you’re looking to save your money but still add a trendy piece to your closet, go for the cold shoulder. If you don’t mind repositioning your top or if you just really want a cute Insta, go for OTS. (PS- I highly recommend doing it for the Insta. This is a judgement free zone. Do ya thing, girl).

What’s your opinion on these trends? Do you love them? Have you tried them yourself? Let me know in the comments below!

signnature-2

 

One thought on “Trend Talks: Off the Shoulder vs. Cold Shoulder

Leave a Reply

